NESA (pronounced nee-sah) is an organization of men and women who have earned the rank of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America. NESA’s stated purpose is “to serve Eagle Scouts and, through them, the entire movement of Scouting.”

NESA: Life Scout to Eagle Scout

Making the progression for Life Scout to Eagle Scout rank can be a daunting task. NESA is committed to helping Scout make the transition every step of the way by providing online webinars as well as online chats with famous Eagle Scouts, online resources such as the Eagle Scout workbook, and other aids to help encourage the Life Scout’s progress toward Eagle.

Life Scouts may also apply to NESA for Eagle Scout project grants that can help defray the costs of their Eagle Scout project.

Once the Life Scout has completed the necessary steps and has become an Eagle Scout, NESA provides resources to help conduct an appropriate court honor ceremony to mark the accomplishment.

Glenn & Melinda Adams Service Project of the Year

In 2009, the National Eagle Scout Association established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize valuable service of an exceptional nature by a Scout to a religious institution, a school, community, or other entity. The award recognizes the Scout for their Eagle Scout leadership service project, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each year, local councils select a council-level winner, and from that pool, each region selects a region-level winner. A national winner is then selected from the four regional finalists.

Complete your “National Eagle Scout Project of the Year Award” application (start here) and submit it plus a complete duplicate copy of your Eagle Scout Leadership Service Project Workbook, including photographs and descriptive materials, to the attention of Brian Boggs, Council Advancement Chair, at either the Foster City or Palo Alto Service Centers. Please email Brian Boggs indicating that you are submitting your application. Submittal deadline is in January.

To see the Adams Award recipients from the Pacific Skyline Council, including a brief description of their service projects, click here.

Legacy Society/Fellowship

Fellowship in the NESA Legacy Society is open to any currently registered youth or adult Scouter who has been recognized first as a Pacific Skyline Council James E. West Fellow. All contributions to the national NESA endowment should be in addition to your regular support of the Pacific Skyline Council’s fundraising programs.

NESA Committee Grants

NESA committees throughout the country provide countless hours of service to their communities and Local councils. Projects range from career seminars and internships for Eagle Scouts, to building and service projects at the local council camps and the community at large, as well as merit badge workshops. Through the NESA endowment, NESA committees may apply for a service grant, allowing them to complete large-scale service projects with their council.

Eagles’ Call Magazine

The more than 130,000 members of NESA received four quarterly issues of Eagles’ Call magazine, proudly publishes the achievements of Eagle Scouts across the country, in addition to photos of Eagle Scout families and memorials recognizing the lives of Eagles. Want to submit something to the magazine? Start here.

Testimonial Video

A special thanks to Jim Penrose (Eagle Scout, 1965) at!

The Eagle Scout award is the highest award in the Boy Scouts of America. Watch this video to see famous Eagles like Jim Lovell, Donald Rumsfeld, Steve Fossett, Bob Gates and a host of today’s Eagles tell the stories of their own Scouting experiences.

Learn More

To learn more about NESA click here.