Eagle Scout Scholarships

NESA, Local, Religious, Civic/Military, Institution-specific

National Eagle Scout Association

Since 2008, NESA has provided 857 scholarships, totalling over $2.4 million. Annually, NESA receives over 5,000 scholarship applications. In 2013, NESA awarded 218 scholarships totalling $594,500. Your NESA Legacy and NESA membership dollars fund these scholarships. Western Region NESA Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to Albert Theodore (Teddy) Heidmann, Troop 37, Los Altos, CA — 2013 recipient of a $3,000 NESA Academic Scholarship.

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) Offers Two Types of Eagle Scout Scholarships

Academic Scholarships: The first type of scholarship offered by NESA is the academic scholarship, which includes a varying number of $3,000 NESA scholarships, and a varying number of $2,500 Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke scholarships. The Mabel and Lawrence S. Cooke scholarships are awarded annually and include four $25,000 scholarships (payable at $6,250 per year) and one $48,000 scholarship (up to $12,000 payable for four years), plus a varying number of others.

NESA offers two additional academic scholarships including one $50,000 STEM scholarship (up to $12,500 payable for four years) to an applicant who plans to major in a science, technology, engineering, or math field, and one $25,000 United Health Foundation scholarship offered to an applicant who plans to pursue a career in the healthcare arena and is willing to reinvest his knowledge and skills in an underserved community.

Learn more (goes to NESA website)

Merit Scholarships: The second type of national Eagle Scout scholarship is the Hall/McElwain Merit Scholarship. Each BSA region reviews applications and awards a varying number of these $1,000 scholarships.

NESA merit scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school or undergraduate college students no farther than completion of the junior year. Recipients may receive the scholarship one time only.

More than 5,000 NESA scholarship applications are received each year, and fewer than 250 are awarded, so the competition is stiff. Plans are being formulated to greatly increase the amount of funds available to award NESA Eagle Scout scholarships through future years.

Learn more (goes to NESA website)

Stanford District Livermore Scholarship

Each year the Frank Livermore Trust awards college scholarships to Eagles, Quartermasters, and Silver Awards (Venturers) of the Stanford District. The value is $2,500 per year up to a maximum of $16,000 over 4 years per recipient.  The candidate must be currently registered as a youth member or an adult in a Stanford District Scouting unit and have been registered in Scouting for at least two years at the time of application. He or she must also have a minimum high school academic record of B+, have demonstrated leadership qualities in Scouting, and have participated in extracurricular activities in addition to Scouting. Financial need is a minor consideration since this is primarily a merit scholarship.  See application for more details.

Frank Livermore, the founder of the Museum of American Heritage (MOAH) in Palo Alto, died June 9, 2000 at the age of 81. He was a friend and frequent visitor of Lucie Stern. A longtime resident of Menlo Park, he was a former bookkeeper who became a millionaire when he sold his interest in a radio broadcast network. A Palo Alto native and a collector of all things mechanical, Frank Livermore established the museum in the late 1980s, after he ran out of space in his home for his vast collection of old cameras, radios, vacuum cleaners, adding machines, hair dryers, toasters, slide projectors and turn-of-the-century player pianos.

The museum, which includes permanent exhibits of everyday life before World War II, is financed through the Frank Livermore Trust, which also provides scholarships for Eagle Scouts of Stanford Area Council (1940-1994), today the Stanford District of the Pacific Skyline Council. An active member of Boy Scouts for much of his life, Frank never married and lived modestly in his antique-jammed bungalow, investing most of his wealth in his collections and, in later years, the museum.  To date, the Trust has provided 92 four-year college scholarships to Stanford Council/Stanford District Eagle Scouts.

2024 Livermore Application


• Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout Scholarship
• Chester M. Vernon Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Rick Arkans Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Frank L. Weil Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Eastern Orthodox Scouting Scholarships

• American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year
• Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Veterans of Foreign Wars Scout of the Year
• Washington Scholars Fellowship Program


• Abilene Christian University Venturing and Scouting Leadership Scholarship
• Birmingham-Southern College Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Blackburn College Eagle Scout/Gold Award Scholarship
• College of St. Joseph Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Columbia College Leadership Award

Dofflemyer Scholarship

Stanford University awards scholarships based on a family’s demonstrated need, not on merit. Students initially receive financial aid from a general scholarship fund. However, funding is sometimes drawn from named funds like the Dofflemyer Scholarship, which gives preference to Eagle Scouts. Therefore, applicants who are Eagle Scouts need only follow the university’s standard application process to demonstrate eligibility.

• Epsilon Tau Pi’s Soaring Eagle Scholarship
• Florida Institute of Technology Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Gaebe Eagle Scout Award
• Gold Award/Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Hampden-Sydney Citizen-Leader Scholarship
• Josh Sain Memorial Scholarship
• Lamar University College of Engineering Scholarship
• Lindenwood University Scouting Scholarships
• Lindsey Wilson College Eagle Scout Scholarship
• McDaniel College Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Mississippi State University Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Mr. and Mrs. Edward William Brandecker Scholarship
• Newman University Scouting Scholarship
• Robbins Scholarship for Eagle Scouts
• Saint Vincent College Eagle Scout Scholarship
• Texas A&M Corps of Cadets Aggie Eagle Program
• University of Louisville Eagle Scout Scholarship
• University of Mississippi Eagle Scout Scholarship
• University of St. Thomas Eagle Scout Scholarship